This is a 13th century Norman Castle built in 1269 by Robert de Ufford. It was taken by the Connacht King Aodh O’Connor in 1272, eight years later he lost it to the English garrison. In 1340 the O’Connors regained possession of it, they had it for two centuries until it was taken by Sir Henry Sidney. In 1641 the Parliamentarian faction gained it until Confederate Catholics took it in 1645. It was partially blown up in 1652. It was burnt down in 1690 and gradually fell into decay.
Today, the Castle’s past can be explored while enjoying adjacent Loughnaneane Park and Playground, a 14 acre recreational area. The natural features of the park include a turlough and a wildlife conservation area which is a habitat of unique flora and fauna. A deck is provided for visitors to view the wildlife and views beyond. There is also a swallow-hole on the site. The Park includes a crannóg known locally as the Hill o’ Bones, a wildflower meadow, bird walk, lake feature, mounds, children’s playground and car park.
Click on the link below 🙂