The picturesque village of Loughglynn is a 10min drive from Ballaghaderreen on the R293. Loughglynn derives its name from the lake. The lake is artificial in nature and was built in the early 19th century by Charles Strickland who was a land agent to Viscount Dillon. Dillon gave the lake to his wife as a birthday present.
The village was also passed through in 1603 in what has become the famous historic march of O’Sullivan Bearna.
Take a drive through the Woodlands of Loughglynn which is famous in both history and song. Beautiful views of the lake can be seen along the way. Loughglynn House which later became a convent is also situated along the same road. It was built c.1715. It was the main residence for the Dillon family who were absentee landlords for much of the 19th century but it was mostly their land agent Charles Strickland who lived there.
The remains of one tower located on the southern side of Loughglynn can also be seen on a drive or walk through the woods. It is the remains of a Norman castle and is believed to have been founded by the Fitzgeralds of Mayo. The castle was defended at each angle by a tower, one of which in later times, was used as a temporary prison.